Members

Thomas Heldt, PhD (Chair)

W.M. Keck Career Development Professor in Biomedical Engineering
Institute for Medical Engineering & Science, MIT
Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Email: thomas@mit.edu
Web: http://neuro.mit.edu


Nicholas Chbat, PhD (Vice-chair)

Principal Scientist, Philips Research North America
Co-Director, Center of Excellence in Critical Care Innovation,
New York Presbyterian Hospital
Ajdunct Professor, Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering,
Columbia University,
New York, USA

Email: nc22@columbia.edu
Web: http://me.columbia.edu/nicolas-chbat


Ricardo Armentano, PhD

Distinguished Professor,
Technology and Innovation Consultant
Vice Chairman Global Citizen Safety and Security Working Group
International Federation of Medical and Biological Engineering
Principal Investigator (PI) UNDP Project URU/06/004

Email: armen@ieee.org
Web: http://ricardoarmentano.webs.com


Alberto Avolio, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
Department of Biomedical Sciences,
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Macquarie University,
Sydney, Australia

Email: alberto.avolio@mq.edu.au


Almir Badnjevic, PhD

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Medical Device Technology,
Medical Devices Verification Laboratory VERLAB,
International Burch University,
University of Sarajevo Faculty of Electrical Engineering
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Email: badnjevic.almir@gmail.com


Riccardo Barbieri, PhD

Assistant Professor of Anaesthesia,
Harvard Medical School & MIT,
Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Email: rbarbieri1@partners.org
Web: http://users.neurostat.mit.edu/barbieri


Anna M. Bianchi, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
Politecnico di Milano,
Milano, Italy

Email: annamaria.bianchi@polimi.it
Web: http://www.deib.polimi.it/personale/ruolo/dettagliop.php?id_persona=93430&idlang=ita


Leonardo Bocchi, PhD

Researcher in Biomedical Engineering,
University of Florence,
Florence, Italy

Email: leonardo.bocchi@unifi.it
Web: http://www.unifi.it/p-doc2-2013-200006-B-3f2b3429382928-0.html


P. Sang Chalacheva, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Associate,
University of Southern California,
Los Angeles, California, USA

Email: chalache@usc.edu


Philip de Chazal, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
Charles Perkins Centre,
School of Electrical and Information Engineering,
The University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Email: philip.dechazal@sydney.edu.au
Web: http://sydney.edu.au/engineering/people/philip.dechazal.php


Ainara Garde, PhD

Tenure Track Assistant Professor,
Biomedical Signals And Systems,
University of Twente,
Enschede, The Netherlands

Email: a.gardemartinez@utwente.nl
Web: https://www.utwente.nl/ewi/bss/people/staff/ainara-garde/


Jin-Oh Hahn, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering,
Faculty Member, Applied Mathematics, Statistics & Scientific Computing Program
University of Maryland at College Park

Email: jhahn12@umd.edu
Web: http://terpconnect.umd.edu/~jhahn12/


Anne Humeau-Heurtier, PhD

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
University of Angers,
Angers, France

Email: anne.humeau@univ-angers.fr
Web: http://okina.univ-angers.fr/a.hum


Omer Inan, PhD

Assistant Professor,
School of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
Georgia Institute of Technology
Georgia, USA

Email: omer.inan@ece.gatech.edu
Web: http://irl.gatech.edu/


Raimon Jané, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
Polytechnic University of Catalonia,
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Email: raimon.jane@upc.edu
Web: http://www.ibecbarcelona.eu/biomedsignal


Morten Olgaard Jensen, PhD, DrMed

Associate Professor, ARA Scholar
Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville

Email: mojensen@uark.edu
Web: https://cblab.uark.edu


Michael C.K. Khoo, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Pediatrics,
University of Southern California,
Los Angeles, California, USA

Email: khoo@usc.edu
Web: http://bme.usc.edu/directory/faculty/core-faculty/michael-khoo


Chang-Sei Kim, PhD

Assistant Professor, School of Mechanical Engineering,
Faculty Member, Medical Microrobot Center
Chonnam National University,
Gwangju, Republic of Korea

Email: ckim@jnu.ac.kr
Web: http://www.rri.re.kr


John K.J. Li, PhD

Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
Rutgers University,
Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

Email: johnkjli@rci.rutgers.edu
Web: http://bme.rutgers.edu/john-k-j-li


Zhong Liang, PhD

Assistant Professor,
National Heart Centre Singapore
Duke National University Singapore, Medical School

Email: zhong.liang@nhcs.com.sg


Nigel Lovell, PhD

Scientia Professor of Biomedical Engineering,
University of New South Wales,
Sydney, Australia

Email: n.lovell@unsw.edu.au
Web: https://research.unsw.edu.au/people/scientia-professor-nigel-lovell


Nicos Maglaveras, PhD

Professor of Medical Informatics
Director of the Lab of Medical Informatics – The Medical School
Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
Director of the Lab of Informatics for Big Biodata
Center for Research and Technology Hellas – Institute of Applied Biosciences
Thessaloniki, Greece

Email: nicmag@med.auth.gr, nicmag@certh.gr
Web: http://inab.certh.gr, http://www.med.auth.gr/depts/lomi


Ramakrishna Mukkamala, PhD

Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
Michigan State University,
East Lansing, Michigan, USA

Email: rama@egr.msu.edu
Web: http://www.egr.msu.edu/~rama


Thomas Penzel, PhD

Professor of Sleep medicine,
Charite University Hospital,
Departement of Cardiology,
Interdisciplinary Sleep Medicine Center,
Berlin, Germany

Email: thomas.penzel@charite.de
Web: http://schlafmedizin.charite.de/en


Matthias Reumann, PhD

Manager of Healthcare Research,
IBM Research – Australia Laboratory,
Melbourne, Australia

Email: matthias.reumann@gmail.com


Eun Bo Shim, PhD

Professor of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering,
Kangwon National University,
Chuncheon, Republic of Korea

Email: ebshim@kangwon.ac.kr
Web: http://biosyseng.kangwon.ac.kr


Masaru Sugimachi, MD, PhD

Professor and Director of Cardiovascular Dynamics,
National Cerebral & Cardiovascular Center,
Osaka, Japan

Email: su91mach@ri.ncvc.go.jp
Web: http://www.ncvc.go.jp/english/res/car_dyn/index.html


Kenji Sunagawa, MD, PhD

Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine,
Kyushu University,
Fukuoka, Japan

Email: sunagawa@cardiol.med.kyushu-u.ac.jp
Web: http://www.med.kyushu-u.ac.jp/cardiol/research_units/baio/person.html


Merryn Tawhai, PhD

Associate Professor of Bioengineering,
University of Auckland,
Auckland, New Zealand

Email: m.tawhai@auckland.ac.nz
Web: http://www.abi.auckland.ac.nz/en/about/our-people/researchers/merryn-tawhai.html


Debbie Lin Teodorescu, MA

Device Research Lead
MIT – D-Lab Health
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

Email: DLTeodor@med.harvard.edu
Web: http://www.linkedin.com/in/dlteodor


Philip Terrill, PhD

Lecturer in Electrical and Biomedical Engineering,
School of Information Technology and Electrical,
The University of Queensland,
Brisbane, Australia

Email: p.terrill@uq.edu.au
Web: http://www.itee.uq.edu.au/bme/terrill


Nicola Toschi, PhD

Associate Professor of Medical Physics,
Medical Physics Section – Department of Biomedicine and Prevention,
University of Rome Tor Vergata, Rome, Italy

Assistant in Neuroscience,
A.A. Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging,
Harvard Medical School/MGH,
Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Email: toschi@med.uniroma2.itnicola@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu


Gaetano Valenza, PhD

Assistant Professor of Bioengineering,
Computational Physiology & Biomedical Instruments group,
Department of Information Engineering &
Bioengineering and Robotics Research Center “E. Piaggio”,
School of Engineering, University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy

Email: g.valenza@ieee.org
Web: http://www.centropiaggio.unipi.it/~valenza


Steve Weisner

Director of Nihon Kohden Innovation Center
Nihon Kohden

Email: weisner@nk-ic.com
Web: https://www.linkedin.com/in/steveweisner


Login

New Here? Sign Up

Looking for increased exposure in the field of biomedical engineering? EMBS offers journals, conferences and a community for biomedical engineers. Membership includes PULSE Magazine.

Join EMBS